Josie Bouchier L.Ac.

A glimpse at Pour Porter’s inspired fall collection

In Fashion on September 12, 2010 at 12:55 pm

Yesterday, I did a photo shoot for a friend’s online fashion boutique called Pour Porter. (Check out the photos here.) Noel and I actually hadn’t met until yesterday, even though we’ve been emailing for months, but I’m happy to say we got along like wildfire. (i.e. I have a rack of clothes all in your size, will you wear them for me? Um, YES!)

Every once in a while, someone comes along that shows you a new definition of beauty. I love, love, love when this happens. In college I was friends with an artist who gave me a gigantic black and white poster that was an up-close, out-of-focus image of water. I had never before considered something so simple, so beautiful. Years later, I realize how powerfully she influenced my sense of space, color and design.

Noel is one of these people. She absolutely blew my socks off! A true visionary with an exquisite, unique point of view, her eye for fashion and design is immediately refreshing and outside the box. From the framed and mounted antler-like epiphyte growing on her living room wall, to the grapefruit vodka gimlets she and her husband served after the shoot — the whole experience was totally inspiring!

Some of the pieces I fell in love with were a pair of black sheepskin fingerless gloves so fluffy I felt like purring, a buttery, black leather skirt cinched and gathered around waist and made to look like the bottom of a man’s dress shirt (below), and a bright, oversized plaid scarf that zips up the front.

Noel’s fall collection of up and coming designers includes hand printed silks, jaw-dropping patterns from Ghana, vintage brooches swaddled in black netting, home grown gourd necklaces — yes, gourd — handbags made out of stilettos, unisex wool capes complete with dramatic fringe, sleeves, and a built-in backpack, to name a few. I mean, really, you’d have to be asleep not to appreciate these!

Fashion feeds me on so many levels, meeting Noel and wearing her pieces yesterday felt like a long-awaited feast. I’m already looking forward to her Spring collection! If you haven’t done so, do yourself a favor and check out Pour Porter’s blog and boutique.

Happy fashion week!

: )

  1. Aw, thank you so much for the love, Josie! We had a wonderful time with you and Lisa, and Tim and really appreciate how willing and open you were to modeling for a virtual total stranger. We can’t wait to get the images up on the website too!

  2. I just love your blog – you are a really good writer & I’m not just saying that because I’m your mom 🙂

Leave a Reply

